Members of ICADS

The International Coalition of Art Deco Societies is a voluntary alliance of groups from around the world. Generally the members are Art Deco societies, membership-based, formally constituted and which represent a City or a region. The annual fee of Membership is US$75.

Other members of ICADS are Key Contacts, based in cities where no Art Deco society exists, where an emerging society is being organized, where an Historical Society exists, or where members prefer to maintain an on-line (rather than a formal, in-person) presence. Membership fee for Key Contacts is US$25. Whilst the emphasis is on Art Deco, a number of member societies also celebrate modernism.

Members exchange information regularly and assist each other with support for preservation activities, news, and welcome other ICADS members during visits. A number of member societies produce regular hardcopy journals, which are supplied to other members. Others produce on-line bulletins or newsletters, or have social media accounts, and welcome viewing (and comments) from fellow members.

ICADS is dedicated to fostering co-operation and mutual support among members, broadening its membership and influence, and exploring new ways to work together to promote the understanding, appreciation and preservation of Art Deco.


Education, Heritage, and Preservation

A major aim of ICADS is to inform and educate the public on the importance of Art Deco buildings and artifacts and the contribution made by artists, designers and architects of this period. Preservation of Art Deco heritage is a critical activity of members, and members seek to exchange information and provide support in heritage activities.

The World Congress

ICADS is responsible for the management of a bi-annual World Congress on Art Deco©, hosted by a member Society. The first World Congress was organised in Miami, USA, in 1991.

Host cities for subsequent Congresses are:

  • Perth, Australia (1993)
  • Brighton and London, United Kingdom (1995)
  • Los Angeles, USA (1997)
  • Napier, New Zealand (1999)
  • Tulsa, USA (2001)
  • Cape Town, South Africa (2003)
  • New York, USA (2005)
  • Melbourne, Australia (2007)
  • Montreal, Canada (2009)
  • Rio de Janiero, Brazil (2011)
  • Havana, Cuba (2013)
  • Shanghai, China (2015)
  • Cleveland, USA (2017)
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina (2019)

ICADS - Organizational Structure

ICADS is managed by an elected Board of Directors, consisting of four executive Officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer) and four general Board members. The Board is elected to serve a term between World Congresses, generally two years. A formal Board meeting is held at each World Congress, and decision-making between meetings is made electronically.

All members of the Board are volunteers. The Board operates under a set of by-laws that govern its activities and responsibilities.

ICADS is organised as a non-profit corporation in the state of Delaware, USA. It has received tax-exempt status under 501 (c)(3) from the US Internal Revenue Service.


Miami Design Preservation League (MDPL) organized the first World Congress on Art Deco© in 1991. During the 1992 Art Deco Weekend. MDPL hosted the presidents of all Art Deco societies. Out of this initiate the National Coalition of Art Deco Societies (NCADS) was born. MDPL hosted a follow up event in 1993, at that time, 1993, the category of “International Associates” which could become “full participants in NCADS,” was created. A few years later the name was changed to ICADS.